Arm Yourself with Books for The Zombie Apocalypse

Hello, 2012! I have long been waiting for you! And, well, hello readers. *fidget, fidget* I hope that you are still with me.

Roughly ten months since I started The BiblioPile, 40 books read, N number more bought, two hiatus status, and a promise to blog more religiously, we have come to 2012–another year to be a better person, to immerse in new characters, and learn about more fictional worlds.

As embarrassing as it is to admit, I had not gone on a writer’s break, but rather I was bitten by the holiday bug and have succumbed to the call of soul wandering. Ehem. But fear not, [Pardon the melodrama. The season calls for it.] for with the month of idle posts come with the gorgeous book hordes to be devoured:

1Q84, Haruki Murakami (gifted by a former professor, Miss AiMac); The Marriage Plot, Jeffrey Eugenides; On Love, Alain de Botton; Flipped, Wendelin Van Draanen (Christmas Party gift); I Am a Cat, Natsume Soseki  (gifted by Sasha); Snakehead, Ann Halam (gifted by an officemate); Graffiti Girl, Kelly Parra; Dumot, Alan Navarra (gifted by a college friend); Revolutionary Road, Richard Yates

Well, that was quite a list, and believe me, I would have wanted the list to be longer.

I am in the middle of Revolutionary Road as of writing time, while my thoughts on Will Grayson, Will Grayson, Before I Fall, After Dark, and Kiss and Tell are sitting well in my head for the coming days. I promise to blog on these books, which I thoroughly enjoyed, as soon as I manage to squeeze in time in the busy days ahead.

Please be as excited as I am.

The year 2011 was a challenging one, with heartbreaks, found love, another heartbreak, steady work-related stuff, falling off with friends, finding and building on new ones, and welcoming a family member. The books that I have read this year have, indeed, been more than escape in the ugly reality and have given solace in rough times.

Looking for Alaska has inspired me my mantra for 2012 and maybe, for the rest of my life, which I have happily inked on my body. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close opened a deep well of emotions I had in me, and A Lover’s Discourse continues to engulf me in the maddening world of Lurve.

I look forward to unraveling more realms of good and bad literature all together with you in this tiny nook of cyberspace. For now, I’ll go back and finish Kiss and Tell and start that blog on The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time.

All together now: Cheers, you bookworms. Happy New Year!

This entry was posted in Book Blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Arm Yourself with Books for The Zombie Apocalypse

  1. Jay says:

    I long to have that copy of 1Q84. 🙂

  2. Rev Road! That book is in my 2012 reading list. How do you find it? 🙂

    • Tin Patag says:

      I’m on the 7th chapter now!:) I have asked a couple of people who have read the book, and they all said the same thing–it made them fear marriage all the more–which I think, tells the efficiency of Yates in portraying the married life.

      Or maybe, I am the wrong person to ask. I thoroughly enjoy reading stuff that reinforces my commitment phobia, haha. Sorry, daldal ko.

      • Haha, it’s okay. That just made me really look forward to it. I’ve been forever postponing it, so I guess it should be finally tackled some time this year. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

